Champion Mastery Guide

What is Champion Mastery?

The mastery system is designed to recognize a player’s respective investment in a champion and uses skill-based progression to measure advancement. When a player wins a game, they’ll earn CP (champion points) toward mastery levels for that champion, and get rewards along the way. The amount of CP earned is heavily weighted by team performance.

Unlocking Champion Mastery

Your summoner level must be at least 5 in order to unlock Champion Mastery.

All champions start at Mastery Level 1, 0 CP (Champion Points). As you play and accrue CP, you’ll achieve new ranks and unlock rewards associated with that rank. On your profile, you will see your:

  • Top 3 Champions
  • Mastery Score (the sum of all levels for your unlocked champions)
  • Champions Closest to Mastery

We expect players to take 15-30 games to level through the first set of levels (1-5). We'll be unlocking additional levels later. You can only achieve a max of Mastery Level 4 with free week champions unless you own that champion.

Champion Points (CP)

Champion Points are earned for completing a game with a particular champion. Earning CP will allow you to gain Mastery Levels (up to level 5) in that champion and earn rewards as you progress. Points are based on your performance, your team's performance, the length of the game, win vs. loss, and a few other factors. You can see how much CP you earn at the end of each game.

Screenshot of the CP popup that appears at the end of a game. Level 5, Rank S-, +721 CP

NOTE: Your previous games will NOT count towards your CP.

Keep in mind that you’ll earn slightly more CP if you team up with other players in a premade before your game. The larger your premade team is, the higher the additional bonus will be.

Premade Size Premade Bonus
Party of one No bonus
Party of two 2% of CP earned
Party of three 4% of CP earned
Party of four 6% of CP earned
Party of five 10% of CP earned

For example, if you team up with two other players (for a total of 3 players in your premade) and earn 25 CP at the end of your game, you will receive an additional 4% of your 25 CP -- 1 CP. This will give you a total of 26 CP earned.


At the end of your game, you can hover over your Champion Mastery points bar to see the grade our new system gives you. These grades are awarded based on your overall performance in the role, the champion you're playing and, crucially, where you're playing them. For example, we look at an Annie going mid differently from an Annie going support. We take a series of performance metrics and compare how you did to all other players in your region in that specific champion/position combination.

This is percentile-driven; earning a high score means you performed in the top x% of players in that champion/position combination.

The possible grades you can achieve are:

S+, S, S-, A+, A, A-, B+, B, B-, C+, C, C-, D+, D, D-

Champion Mastery Levels 6 & 7

Earning an S- or above on champions with level 5 mastery will net you Mastery tokens. Combine these Mastery tokens with Hextech loot in your Hextech Inventory to reach Mastery levels 6 & 7! Here are the details for each rank:

  • Earn Mastery 6 tokens for S-, S, and S+ games with champions that are Mastery Level 5. Combine two Mastery 6 tokens with that champion's Hextech shard, permanent, or 2450 Blue Essence to unlock Mastery Level 6.
  • Earn Mastery 7 tokens for S and S+ games with champions that are Mastery Level 6. Combine three Mastery 7 tokens with that champion's Hextech shard, permanent, or 2950 Blue Essence to unlock Mastery Level 7.

Mastery tokens, champion shards, and champion permanents used in unlocking Mastery must all be champion-specific, so if you want to hit Mastery Level 6 with Quinn, you'll need to earn Mastery 6 tokens by hitting S rank with her.

You can only earn Mastery 6 and 7 tokens in Summoner's Rift normal/ranked games and ARAM.

Champion Titles

At each rank, there is also a role-specific title you'll be able to see on your profile. Titles are based on a champion's primary role, not the lane they're played in.

Assassin Fighter Mage
Assassin icon Thug
Fighter icon Scrapper
Mage icon Initiate
Marksman Support Tank
Marksman icon Tracker
Support icon Aide
Tank icon Grunt


Eligible Game Modes

Champion Mastery is available in all matchmaking queues up to Mastery Level 5: Summoner's Rift normal (Quickplay/Draft), ranked queues, ARAM and all rotating game modes. However, you can only earn Mastery Level 6 & 7 tokens in Summoner's Rift normal/ranked games and ARAM.


NOTE: Champion Mastery rewards will transfer if you move to another server. You can find more about account transfers here.

Rewards Levels

Depending on the rank, the player will receive different rewards for their mastered champion:

Level Reward
1 -
2 -
3 -
4 Mastery Badge Emote, Loading Screen Border, Announcement Banner
5 Mastery Badge Emote, Loading Screen Border, Announcement Banner
6 Mastery Badge Emote, Loading Screen Border, Announcement Banner
7 Mastery Badge Emote, Loading Screen Border, Announcement Banner


Mastery Badge Emote

Required Mastery Level: 4 or higher

This is a way to display your achievement with a champion in game. Just like existing emotes (laugh, dance, etc), it is bound to a key. The binding will be listed next to emotes in the key binding menu:

Screenshot of player using the options menu to assign a Mastery emote

You can also use a slash-command to use the emote. Hit enter to bring up the command prompt then type /masterybadge.

Loading Screen Border

Required Mastery Level: 4 or higher

If you have unlocked this reward, you will see a banner next to your champion’s splash during the loading screen. This will display of your mastery rank will only be visible to players on your team.

Screenshot of a pregame loading screen that shows each player’s Mastery border. League of Legends support.

Announcement Banner

Required Mastery Level: 4 or higher

A banner will appear under the multikill announcement in game if:

  • You or a player on your team killed an opponent
  • Whoever performed the kill is playing a champion above rank 4
Screenshot of a Double Kill banner
Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

From tech to tilt, we're here to help you! Submit a Ticket! So long as it doesn't fall through a portal, we'll get back to you soon.

/ Submit a Ticket
Powered by Zendesk